Horse Hair

24 Apr

horse

I have the same amount of hair as a large horse.  Not a racing horse, but a really big draft horse.  The kind you see at the fall fair that weigh 2 thousand pounds with their mane all done up in fancy ties.  I have a dog who doesn’t shed, however, I make up for her.  I literally shed hair as if I am an animal and yet my mane never thins.  After I blow dry my hair my bathroom floor looks like a scene from the wild wild west with tumble weeds of hair everywhere.  I clog the drain on regular basis even though while showering I gather the hair that comes out of my head and throw it in the garbage.   Maurice saw my “shower gathering” in the garbage the other day and he was amazed (I mean grossed out).

I pride myself on being a super fast pull it together girl. In 15 minutes I can go from looking somewhat questionable to being reasonably put together.  That comes from growing up with one bathroom, a busy schedule and having the attention span of a 2 year old. I just can’t focus on my hair, eyebrows, skin or anything for much longer than that.  Due to this I always feel like I am “one step short of perfection”.  Lipstick on my teeth, mascara below my eyes, ketchup on my shirt.  My hair has caused great issue for me – it isn’t possible to quickly dry the hair of 5 people. I have started to get my hair blown out once a week.  That is right, I go to a girl who spends 1 ENTIRE hour blow drying my hair out.  With professional equipment and 20 years of experience she can’t even believe the go ahead required to do my hair. This means my hair looks amazing and I only wash it once a week!

I love reading about DIY projects whether it be for beauty or for the home. I have come to realize I am not a DIY yourself kind of girl. Most of the projects require having an attention span.  I have tried some at home beauty bits and they flopped.  Eggs in my hair = greasy hair.  Oil on m face = greasy face. At home waxing = half of my eyebrow gone. You get the picture.  The other day I saw a discussion on a natural beauty site about a YouTube instructional video on a “no heat hair curl.”  This cute Austrian girl with a lisp shows how to curl your hair overnight by essentially french rolling your hair into a headband.  Now my hair when curled makes me look like Diana Ross if not done professionally.  A few months ago I curled it myself – I had to take breaks because my arms felt like they were going to fall off. Upon seeing me my brother Steve looked at me curiously and asked if I had a wig on.  Not doing that again.  A lot of volume was happening.  This girl claims to have the same hair as me – thick, coarse and somewhat curly.  I was sucked in. I watched the entire 20 minute video.  I washed my hair.  I let it dry.  It look really bad.  I just moved houses and couldn’t find my headbands, so I used a bathing suit strap (although I do not have a long attention span I am resourceful).  I rolled my hair. 8 hours later I unrolled and it and I cannot believe it but my hair is curly, like Great Gatsby curly and it took all of 4 minutes.  Finally a Do It Yourself success!!!!

You should try it too:

http://www.youtube.com/verify_age?next_url=/watch%3Fv%3DaYxS1ohz4Ao%26list%3DUUKXE-JIL_XIgTOpqOeE2nMA

Over and out!!

Leave a Reply

