All Shook Up

14 Jan

So, this is my first post!  A few months back the World Champion Elvis impersonator contacted me in regards to doing some fundraising for the organization I work for.  The show was on Saturday night… now my Dad is an Elvis lover so I am proud to say that I know the words to many of his songs.  Off I went to see The King – I was pleasantly surprised to see (to me) that he looked remarkably like the Real McCoy.  What I found more shocking were the people who attended this show. I am not sure what cave they climbed out of.  It seemed like prior to coming to the show most people sat in a locked closet while smoking a pack of cigarettes and cooking fish.  Every person who walked by me seemed to be carrying intense smells with them. After cementing themselves with bad odors they went to their bathroom and sprayed cologne/perfume they bought when Elvis was alive or sprayed their hair with products which give a “globe head” or secured their comb over.  Much of the concert was blocked by a women who had a head of hair similar to a round metal dish cleaner I use.  The man behind us had on some kind of cologne which made us wonder if he was back from the dead and the formaldehyde he was soaking in was still on him.   Now, it seems as if Elvis must have given out scarves to his female admirers when he sang the song “Love Me Tender” because when this ELVIS IMPERSONATOR sang the song women rushed to the stage with their hands in the air looking for him to give them a scarf.  Now, I wouldn’t even run to the stage for the real guy, so you can bloody well guarantee a sweaty guy from Moncton in a one piece jumpsuit handing out scarfs from the dollar store wasn’t getting me out of my seat.   Later on in the show he gave out teddy bears while singing the hit song “Teddy Bear”.  Again, the same women rushed the stage as if they were running from the bulls in Madrid.  I felt awkward and itchy as I watched this whole thing roll out.   I am not sure if before I arrived at the show there was a crane placing people into seats because when the lights came on there were many who couldn’t move – not sure how they were getting out.

That’s it. Until next time…

EC

10 Responses to “All Shook Up”

  1. kdruet January 14, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    One piece jumpsuit…classic! Keep ’em coming 🙂

    • emiliechiasson4563 January 15, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      Haha – it was quite the sight. I just can’t imagine being attracted to a man in such attire, but hey it takes all sorts!

  2. AMacQueen January 14, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Finally Em – the world will be an even funnier place now that you’re hosting a blog 🙂

  3. Amy Mc January 15, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    This will be my new fab website…..looking for daily updates…..old and new stories welcome!

    • emiliechiasson4563 January 15, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      Haha – I shall see what I can do! I posted one for you today…

  4. Pam Thomas January 15, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    you always make my day when I read anything you write (compliments of your Auntie Lucille)….love, love your humour.

  5. mike January 17, 2013 at 2:40 am #

    Hilarious!! Always love your descriptions of crickers and general oddities…

  6. Monique January 22, 2013 at 1:11 am #

    You make me smile! I’m glad you’re doing this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

